RI Elementary School Principal of the Year

Each year RIASP selects a Rhode Island Elementary School Principal of the Year. This principal is acknowledged by his/her peers for the exemplary contributions he/she has made to the profession.  The program honors school principals who place student learning at the center, set high expectations for student development, oversee standards based teaching and learning, utilize data in making decisions, and engage the community in the shared responsibility for student achievement.

The RIASP Elementary Principal of the Year recognition program is run in conjunction with the National Distinguished Principal Program (NDP) which is sponsored by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) in corporate sponsorship with VALIC.

Anyone may nominate an eligible principal – a superintendent, a principal, a teacher, a parent, a student.

Award Recipients

 2010- Christopher Kennedy, Nayatt School
 2011 - Debra Zepp, Matunuck Elementary School
 2012 - Susan Chin, Veazie Street Elementary School
 2013 - Nidia Karbonik, Ashton Elementary School
 2014  - Edward Ferrario, Stony Lane Elementary School
 2015 - Louise Seitsinger, Tiogue Elementary School          
2016 - Denise Missry, Asa Messer Elementary School 


© 2015 Rhode Island Association of School Principals

Rhode Island Association of School Principals is a 501(c) 6 Non-Profit Organization

Bldg. #6, RIC Campus
600 Mt. Pleasant Avenue 
Providence, RI 02908

401-272-9811 ext. 19 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software