RI High School Principal of the Year

Each year RIASP selects a Rhode Island High School Principal of the year who then becomes eligible for consideration as the National High School Principal of the Year.

The NASSP National Principal of the Year award program annually recognizes outstanding school leaders who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students.  These principals are acknowledged by their peers for the exemplary contributions they have made to the profession.  The program honors school principals who have demonstrated excellence in collaborative leadership; curriculum, instruction, and assessment; and personalization.

Anyone may nominate an eligible principal – a superintendent, a principal, a teacher, a parent, a student.

Award  Recipients

2010 - Patricia DiCenso, Rogers High School
2011 - Dennis Mullen, Pilgrim High School
2012 - Daniel Kelley, Smithfield High School
2013 - Michael Hobin, Coventry High School
2014 - Scott Sutherland, Mount Pleasant High School
2015 - Alan J. Tenreiro, Cumberland High School               2016 - Jason Masterson,  Joseph L. McCourt Middle School 

In 2016, the decision to chose one (1) Secondary Principal of the Year was made rather than having one winner in the Middle School category and one winner in the High School category and this will be the procedure going forward.  


© 2015 Rhode Island Association of School Principals

Rhode Island Association of School Principals is a 501(c) 6 Non-Profit Organization

Bldg. #6, RIC Campus
600 Mt. Pleasant Avenue 
Providence, RI 02908

401-272-9811 ext. 19 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software