RI Middle School Principal of the Year

Each year RIASP selects a Rhode Island Middle School Principal of the Year who then becomes eligible for consideration as the National Middle School Principal of the Year.

The NASSP National Principal of the Year award program annually recognizes outstanding school leaders who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students.  These principals are acknowledged by their peers for the exemplary contributions they have made to the profession.  The program honors school principals who have demonstrated excellence in collaborative leadership; curriculum, instruction, and assessment; and personalization.

Anyone may nominate an eligible principal – a superintendent, a principal, a teacher, a parent, a student.

Award Recipients

2010 - Michael Almeida, Alan Shawn Feinstein Middle School
2011 - Thomas Barbieri, Hugh B. Bain Middle School
2012 - Gregory Zenion, Chariho Middle School
2013 - Richard Drolet, North Cumberland Middle School
2014 - Patricia Marcotte, Ponaganset Middle School
2015 - Jaime Crowley, Frank E. Thompson Middle School   

In 2016, Middle School and High School Principal categories were merged to have one (1) Secondary Principal of the Year Winner. This will be the procedure going forward. 


© 2015 Rhode Island Association of School Principals

Rhode Island Association of School Principals is a 501(c) 6 Non-Profit Organization

Bldg. #6, RIC Campus
600 Mt. Pleasant Avenue 
Providence, RI 02908

401-272-9811 ext. 19 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software